Birth of a Crankee cover

11 Jul

I’m gonna pause from practicing “Yankee Doodle” on my tenor saxophone (really and truly) to write this post. (Believe it or not, I can still play. Still play poorly, that is.)

I recently posted about the creation of Crankee, and got lots of positive responses. So, I thought I’d share with you all the different covers that I came up with before selecting this beauty:

000b2.crankeecover copy

Here are some original sketches:

CrankeeCoverRuff

 

CrankeeCoverRuff2

And here are different color comps (colored digitally):

COVERE

COVERD

 

COVERB

 

COVERA

 

COVERG

 

COVERF

 

 

COVERH

That’s a lot of covers! It was hard to choose.

Hope you are having a wonderful summer thus far! Be sure to come and see us at Quail Ridge Books in Raleigh, NC on the 20th, and Flyleaf Books in Chapel Hill, NC on the 21st. That is, if you live in NC!

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Birth of a Crankee cover”

  1. lindabudz July 11, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    I love them all! But I think you DID choose the best one!

    • Cece Bell July 13, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

      Thanks, Linda! Glad you think so.

  2. Scott Brookman July 11, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    the horse’s teeth just kill me every time. We are all winners for getting to see these variations.

    • Cece Bell July 13, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      SCOTT! We ARE all winners. Must get a copy of the book to you so that you can admire the teeth on every single page. Every single page!!!

  3. MC July 12, 2013 at 2:37 am #

    So great, Cece! The book should have come out with all the different cover options like the Entertainment Weekly Special Editions! (Sign I’m a reader of deep lit: first thought is EW… not other high-brow things that come out with multiple covers but which I can’t think of off the top of my head b/c I’m not high-brow enough.)

    • Cece Bell July 13, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      MC Hill, EW is my magazine of choice. So I think we’re pretty much the same brow, eh?

  4. jama July 12, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    So much fun seeing these. Those expressions are priceless. Thanks for showing us more of the crankee-ness :).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,486 other followers

