Oldie but Goodie: Over in the Meadow

12 Mar

I made this little book for my older kid a lifetime ago. It’s based on the old Over in the Meadow song, which he loved, and I altered it only slightly. It was sorta experimental for me — I scanned in little animal paintings and combined them with photos that I messed with to make them monochromatic.

Here it is, in its entirety:

6 Responses to “Oldie but Goodie: Over in the Meadow”

  1. Jess Stork March 13, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    I like the winking owls 🙂

    • Cece Bell March 13, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

      Thanks! They are winking at you, I’ll bet.

  2. Christi April 24, 2012 at 4:22 am #

    Cece – I sing this version of the poem to my children but have yet to find the same text in any of the current “Over the Meadow” picture books. All of the versions we have checked out of the library and have glanced at on Amazon are other variations of the poem. They are fun, but I love the poem as I remember it from my childhood. Is your book for sale anywhere? My two kids squeezed onto the computer chair tonight so I could sing it while they enjoyed your illustrations. : )

    • Cece Bell April 24, 2012 at 11:16 am #

      Hi Christi! Thanks for your note. I used the old John Langstaff version, illustrated by Feodor Rojankovsky. The only thing I changed was that Langstaff wanted his rabbits hopping in the end, and I wanted mine going to bed — and you probably know why, too. I made just the one copy of the book… but if you are really interested in getting a free version of it, I could collect the pages on a CD for you and you could then print those out. E-mail me at cecebell@yahoo.com and we can work out the details!

  3. Betty March 7, 2015 at 7:08 am #

    Cece, I discovered your version of this wonderful poem while looking at all the other versions on line. Your art work has a really lovely aesthetic and I really, really enjoyed looking at this. If anyone is interested, there is also a really fun song version of Over in the Meadow by Raffi, on You Tube. I think this is the very best book, poem, song for anyone reading to a small child especially if the child reads the part of the babies. Loved your version Cece. Betty

    • Cece Bell August 9, 2015 at 8:47 pm #

      I should have written to you ages ago about your note. Gracious! It’s been a wild summer, which is no excuse for bad manners. Forgive me!

      Thank you for your very kind words about my little version of Over in the Meadow. I really do love that song and it was loads of fun to come up with my own pictures. I’m pleased you like them!

      Hope you’re having a great summer, and thank you again for writing to me. Best to you!!!

Leave a Reply

