I sold my soul to Justin Timberlake

21 Mar

A long, long time ago, I did freelance work for a paper company in Virginia. They got the rights to put all sorts of imagery on their products. Designers and illustrators then took this imagery and created covers for notebooks, folders, pads of paper, you name it. I got to do a lot of illustrations for Crayola products (yay)! But I also sold my soul to the corporate machinations that kept the careers of the five members of NSync humming along. I was given oodles of photos of the members, and then told to create notebook covers that combined these photos with backgrounds and design elements of my very own making.

So… I am pleased to report that I had some small part in helping Justin Timberlake get something back (as his solo song claims); since there might be kids reading this from time to time, I will neglect to say what that something is. I am also happy to report that Justin and I both are closer to what we are meant to be doing: I am making kids’ books, and he is dancing and singing as the Cup O’ Soup mascot (and various others) on SNL. Cheers, Justin. I hope I did you justice with this layout (one of the zillions that I ended up making). And you, unlike me, have not aged a bit.

Wowza wow wow!

2 Responses to “I sold my soul to Justin Timberlake”

  1. Madelyn Rosenberg March 21, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    I remember these! That color looks good on him. Mighty fine! Though am second guessing the photographer who thought that was a good spot for his right hand.

  2. Madelyn Rosenberg March 21, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    Oops. Perhaps you need to delete that comment (for the benefit of the children.)

Leave a Reply

