Big Announcement!

29 Mar

Goodness gracious, Tom Angleberger’s new book in the Origami Yoda series has been announced! It’s called The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee, and here’s the cover:

Yahoo, Tom Angleberger!

I am extra excited about this book because… guess who made the fortune wookiee that is featured on the cover! That’s right: YOURS TRULY. And honestly, I can’t remember when I’ve been so excited about any book, including my own. Let’s face it. Tom’s books are amazing, and that’s because I’m pretty sure that Tom was put on this earth to write books. He is a natural at it in a way that I am not. So his books resonate with lots and lots of people… and I think more people will see this small bit of my “work” on the cover of this book, than will ever see of my other stuff. And that’s cool. Because who wants to look at average designs featuring Justin Timberlake and the other members of NSync? Not me! Anyway, the book comes out in August. And it’s gooder than good!

 

10 Responses to “Big Announcement!”

  1. Madelyn Rosenberg March 29, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Groovy!!! We have been way into those fortune tellers around here, but the ones we have made are nothing like the glory that is your wookie fortune teller!!! Beautiful!

    • Cece Bell March 29, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      Thank ye kindly, Madge!!! It was a lot of fun to make, that’s for sure. A labor of luv.

  2. zeke March 29, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    ata boy.

  3. atheoryofeverything March 29, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Whooooooopie! Can’t wait to read it!

  4. Yodamaster March 30, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Nice job on the wookie! I made somewhat fo a replica of it. I’m a super folder from Tom’s site, and that wookiee on the cover is the best I’ve ever seen! Just one question: Did you use Scrapbooking paper?

    • Cece Bell March 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Thank you! I am very glad you like it. It is indeed scrapbooking paper. It’s kinda hard to fold, because it’s so thick, but the thickness allowed me to do some gluing without warping the paper (I think origami paper would have warped). Very cool to meet a super folder! Best to you!

      • Yodamaster March 31, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

        Ok, great, because I did replicate it (well, tried to) and I used tha kind of paper! Also, it was about 8.5X11 inch right?

  5. Cece Bell March 31, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    Hi Yodamaster! I think the paper may have been closer to 9″ x 9″. I started with one of those big scrapbook paper squares, and trimmed it down a little bit. Thick as grits, it was!

  6. azbyc2 April 13, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Cool cover. I made Fortune Wookiee, but your’s looks better than mine

  7. Steven (@sketchySteven) April 19, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Ooooh, very exciting!!! Haven’t visited your blog since you redesigned. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

