May the 5th be with you…

5 May

Today, May 5th, marks the 36th anniversary of when I got sick and lost my hearing. That was pretty darn sick, let me tell ya! Here’s a picture (one of about a hundred, according to my hyperbolic parents) that I drew while lying around in the hospital in 1975:

And also today, I signed a contract so that I can proceed with a graphic novel about that experience… plus what came after. It’s a big project. I’m daunted. But that’s what ambition will do to you, I reckon. (I’m not always proud of being ambitious, either.)

Anyway, if you don’t see much of me for about a year and a half, don’t worry. I got a long road to hoe.

In the meantime, check out this graphic novel about the Carter family, which is coming out soon. The art is by my old college buddy, Dave Lasky (book written by Frank M. Young). I got to read the sampler (the first 58 pages of 192), and it is AMAZING. (Click here to read more about it.) Here’s hoping Dave will hold my hand at some point, and tell me it’ll be all right!

5 Responses to “May the 5th be with you…”

  1. dlasky May 6, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    Cece: I’m so excited about your announced graphic novel project!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would be most honored to tell you things will be all right when you need me to.

  2. dlasky May 6, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Deidre May 6, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    Congratulations on the new contract. I really look forward to reading about the life that led you to be such an amazing person.

  4. atheoryofeverything May 6, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    I’m so excited for you, Cece!

  5. Jess Stork May 6, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    Wow. I’m really interested to hear more about this project as it develops. I know a number of kids who can relate to your experiences, who would love to read this book when it’s finished.

Leave a Reply

