I love me a wrap-around book jacket!

10 Jan

BUG PATROL (Clarion Books), a rollicking picture book that I illustrated for Denise Dowling Mortensen, comes out in February!

I got the rare chance to do up a wrap-around book jacket, one of my favorite things out there. Just picture the book’s spine in the in-between space of the cover and the back that I scanned in, and you’ve got a good idea of what the whole book jacket looks like when opened all the way.

This was my first experience illustrating a book that someone else wrote, and I quite liked doing it! Especially since the writing (and heck, the drawing part, too) of my latest project has been so, well, daunting. It’s always a treat to see the fruits of your hard work while you’re toiling in the fields of a different project.

Onwards and upwards!

Leave a Reply

