The post I meant to post Monday, before everything changed! It’s a cat painting!

30 Jan

Before I got some startling good news, I was finishing up a little piece of artwork, and I was getting ready to share it with you. But I got sidetracked…so I’m sharing it with you now!

I’m participating in this cool fundraiser for the Roanoke Valley SPCA. It’s called “Best in Show,” and here’s what it is, according to RVSPCA website:

Artists and pet lovers are invited to create artwork in any medium for the 8th Annual Best in Show.  Images can be of pets or any animal friends.  Artwork need not be only a painting, photograph, or collage.  Sculpture as well as designer dog and cat houses, pet beds or prototypes of your designs are also welcome!  All artwork must be for sale with at least 50% of the sale priced being donated by the artist to the RVSPCA.

The RVSPCA Calendar Committee members select the “Best in Show,” which will be featured as the cover of the 2014 RVSPCA Pet Calendar.  Winners in other categories will be selected by guest judge, Karen-Sam Norgard.

“Best in Show” opening reception is sponsored by HomeTown Bank.
Artwork will be exhibited at the Taubman Museum of Art on Friday, February 22, 2013.  Unsold artwork will be featured in a virtual art show/sale on the RVSPCA website and Facebook page.  Unsold artwork will remain for sale online until the end of March.

Fun city, in other words, and for a good cause. Here’s a sneak peek at my entry:

It's called "Snacktime." And guess who's allergic to cats? But I sure love to paint them.

It’s called “Snacktime.” And guess who’s allergic to cats? But I sure love to paint them.

Also worth noting is the faux wood on all four sides of the canvas…

I love fake wood. How's about you?

I love fake wood. How’s about you?

Come on by to the Taubman Museum of Art in my favorite city, Roanoke, VA, on Friday, February 22, 2013. You can buy it! Plus, you’ll see lots and lots of cool entries! And definitely check out the RVSPCA website if you’re interested in submitting your own artwork.

Leave a Reply

