El Deafo Extras! BIG EVENT!!! The real Martha Ann Claytor Chadwick came to see me today!

31 Aug

So, I’m really, really excited and overwhelmed about what happened today.

I’m at the Decatur Book Festival. The book had been made available just for the festival, even though the actual release date is not until Tuesday. So, I was already having a great day when lo and behold, I look up, and I see these two smiling faces:

photo 1

It’s MARTHA and her sister Catherine! BOTH in the book. MARTHA is the STAR of the book…the amazing TRUE FRIEND that I had searched and searched for. Martha is the one with the red hair on the right…and here she is when I first meet her in the book:

Chapter07Panels

She really did wear her hair this way!

There are so many reasons that I loved Martha…and so many reasons why I love her still. Too hard to go into here without crying my eyes out. Here’s Martha and Catherine and me in another scene in the book:

Chapter07Panels

Catherine is in the third panel, sleeping peacefully while Martha fills my head with slightly off-color jokes…

Martha really was that funny. And she still is:

photo 2

Before…

photo 1

…after!

We talked about old times, new times, on and on. And we discussed my crush on our neighbor Mike Miller (also in the book). You know how Cokes have those names on them right now? Well, Catherine discovered that the Coke she had just bought had “Mike” on it!

photo 3

Don’t be mad, Tom Angleberger! Just a joke!

A great, great day. Thanks, Martha and Catherine, for coming to see me today. True friends, reunited.

photo 2

Thanks for reading! THREE DAYS TO GO!

10 Responses to “El Deafo Extras! BIG EVENT!!! The real Martha Ann Claytor Chadwick came to see me today!”

  1. TheDarkKnight August 31, 2014 at 1:30 am #

    🙂

  2. Irasema August 31, 2014 at 2:23 pm #

    Your post brought me such a big smile! I will share this post with my students and, it is my hope, they will find inspiration from it and realize how important it is to be a good friend and have a good friend. We love you, Cece Bell!

    • Cece Bell September 1, 2014 at 10:29 am #

      Aw, thank you! I hope your students will get a kick out of the story. Good friends are THE way out of all kinds of life’s difficulties, I think. Thanks for writing! xoxo!

  3. onesockonphotography August 31, 2014 at 9:36 pm #

    That is just awesome! Is there a way I can get a copy of your book with your autograph? We are your nutty fans from DC. 🙂

    Best, Jen

    Jennifer Kline Vallina ONE SOCK ON photography http://www.onesockon.com cel 240.645.3449

    >

    • Cece Bell September 1, 2014 at 10:26 am #

      Hi Jen! Sorry for late response! I’ll be in DC area VERY soon (this trip is going to be my official launch trip). I’ll be at Politics and Prose and One More Page Books, as well as a couple of DC branch libraries. I’ll be posting very soon the actual dates and times, but I do know I’ll be in DC from October 23rd to October 26th. Maybe I can see you then! THANK YOU for the continued years of support! Means so much.

  4. Jason Marcy September 13, 2014 at 2:43 am #

    Hi Cece,
    Just dropping you a note from Ontario Canada to tell you how much I loved El Deafo! So glad I ordered it at my local comic shop!
    My wife works with deaf/ blind folks and from what I’ve learned , in no way does your book insult the deaf community. I myself lived next door to a family of deaf people(save their daughter who at the age of four became the neighborhood interpreter…). I’d like to think they would have enjoyed your book…
    Sorry, it’s late and my mine is all a jumble! Again your book was AMAZING!
    -Jay

    • Cece Bell September 15, 2014 at 1:55 am #

      Jay! Thanks so much for your note. It meant a lot. I am so glad that you enjoyed the book!!!

  5. sdn October 29, 2014 at 10:18 pm #

    (Now I want to see a photo of the two of you together as girls!)

    • Cece Bell October 29, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

      I don’t think there are any pictures of us as kids, believe it or not! My parents used to have a big box of pictures…and the box got lost years ago. The worst!

      • sdn November 27, 2014 at 2:18 am #

        ::sobbing::

Leave a Reply

