El Deafo officially comes out tomorrow! Yeehaw, book birthday!

2 Sep

I’m excited! Tomorrow El Deafo is finally released to the world. I’m kinda terrified, too. Hopefully folks will like it, and it won’t offend anyone in the deaf/Deaf or hearing communities, and even the friends and teachers I wrote about in a not-nice way will say, “Oh, you were so right to write about me in that way, here’s some ice cream, let’s let bygones be bygones, and gosh, you’re so gorgeous now that you don’t have rabbit ears anymore.” I’d write more, but I just got home after a weekend on the road. Clearly I’ve gone to the dogs or something. Mmmm, wabbit stew!

And now this has nothing to do with the book, but I met WILLIAM WEGMAN this weekend and he TOOK MY PICTURE WITH HIS iPHONE. William. WEGMAN!!!

Here’s the picture he took:

wei

I kid you not. Actually, let me confess that I have no idea what the picture he took looks like. I’ll also confess that I’m not very good at drawing on a Mac book touch pad with my finger. Must rectify.

THANKS for reading…and if I’m sane tomorrow I will post something about something!

Happy book birthday to you, too, Lauren Castillo! And be sure to catch Madelyn Rosenberg‘s book birthday on the 9th!

10 Responses to “El Deafo officially comes out tomorrow! Yeehaw, book birthday!”

  1. Margie Jackson September 2, 2014 at 3:25 am #

    William Wegman! Well done! And he took your picture – how about THAT? And you’re 10,000 times better drawing anything anywhere, than me – I love it. HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!! With lots of love from me!

    • Cece Bell September 2, 2014 at 2:07 pm #

      Margie! Thanks for your note! Ain’t William Wegman’s stuff grand? HE was pretty darn grand, too. Very cool, all around. XOXO!

  2. TheDarkKnight September 2, 2014 at 1:54 pm #

    I can’t wait for your book! It seems really interesting!! 😀

    • Cece Bell September 2, 2014 at 2:06 pm #

      Thank you!

      • TheDarkKnight September 2, 2014 at 2:16 pm #

        😀

  3. Wolfi October 5, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

    Congrats! To me, This book is a BIG hit!
    It’s oh so funny.. And it tells a version of my life as I have the same problem! All I want is to fit it, but Why fit in when you were born to stand out? Thank you for writing the best book ever.

  4. Different October 5, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

    I really love this book, I had been looking for a book like this, AND YES I FOUND IT! My life was always so “Different” really cause when I went to preschool everyone was like me, but from kindergarden to now, I’m with kids who can hear and don’t have to wear a cochlear implant and a neck loop that is paired with a micophone. But me? I do. I feel like the whole world can hear and understand stuff so easy! Music sounds like gibberish, I am not making this up it really does. I can understand TV but can’t hear it. I am not making any of this stuff up, then I find the this book and I’m like.. Wow this is awesome finally Somone who can understand. This book is almost like what going through! Thank you, for writing such a great book. And it has such a happy ending (cried)

    • Cece Bell October 7, 2014 at 1:04 am #

      I’m so glad the book resonated with you! Thanks a million for reading it and for sharing what you’re going through. I really appreciate it…and YOU!

      • Different October 7, 2014 at 11:53 am #

        Your welcome a million. Keep up the great work!

  5. Hazel October 5, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

    This book is a second version of my life, almost everything that happend in this book Happend to me. The only difference is, I was born deaf and I got a cochlear implant. And After preschool for the deaf, I was enrolled in a school with people who could HEAR. Did thease people have to wear a impalnt and a really long neck loop that I only use for school that is paired with a microphone? I don’t think anyone has to. Everyone can hear things so easy. But when I found this book.. I was like AMAZING! Please keep up the great work, and always stand out.

Leave a Reply

