It’s here! It’s finally here! El Deafo arrives via Pony Express…er, UPS!

2 Sep

The book is here! El Deafo is here!

When I returned from Georgia, there were a couple of boxes at our house.

photo 1

Could they contain what I’ve been so excited about for so long?

photo 2

YES! HOORAY!

photo 3

Holy moly!

photo 4

Miss Bunn admires the page where she makes her first appearance. You might remember her from the Sock Monkey books.

photo 5

And Sock Monkey? Is he in the book, too? Sadly, no. Sock Monkey came into my life much, much later. Here he is, NOT enjoying the book, and trying to prevent you from seeing that Miss Bunn is in it, while he is not.

photo-1

Thank you for reading, and for all your support, and for your kind notes and reviews and posts and twitter exclamations and just for plain old picking up the book and giving it a try. There are so many good people in this world and I hope that in some small way I’ve added a bit of my own good to it. That’s the goal with all my books, and this one might be the closest to achieving that. We will see!

Check in soon for more El Deafo Extras and odd bits and bobs from the process of making the book. Again, thanks for reading!

16 Responses to “It’s here! It’s finally here! El Deafo arrives via Pony Express…er, UPS!”

  1. Margo Jantzi September 2, 2014 at 6:41 pm #

    Happy DANCE-.-.-.-.- We are so excited that you book is finally out. Our hearing impaired students and teachers are thrilled! Thanks for sharing your talents in such a powerful way, CeCe

    • Cece Bell September 2, 2014 at 7:09 pm #

      Hooray! I’m so glad your students are excited! If some if them know sign language, ask them which sign or signs they think I most need to know–I’m finally learning! Thanks for your support. Means a lot.

  2. misse619 September 2, 2014 at 8:01 pm #

    UR A GENIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sfTANNER BTW.

    • Cece Bell September 2, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

      Thanks, sfTANNER! You’re probably a genius, too!

  3. erdmusic02 September 2, 2014 at 8:18 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS 😀

  4. TheDarkKnight September 2, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

    YAY!!! I also have a question. Why do authors buy alot of copies of their book when it comes out? Is it to send to freinds and families? Juat a question that was in my mind for a long time. lol. 😛

    • Cece Bell September 2, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

      Yeah, I think you’ve got the right answer!

      • TheDarkKnight September 2, 2014 at 11:12 pm #

        😀

  5. hamsterjp September 3, 2014 at 5:20 am #

    So excited to read this cece! You are a great storyteller! 😀

  6. Skye @ Planet Jinxatron September 17, 2014 at 2:26 am #

    Picked it up at our LCS. Read it and LOVED IT. Well done!

    • Cece Bell September 17, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

      So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for your kind words. Hope you’re well!

  7. Heather August 22, 2016 at 4:26 pm #

    Oh, the first pages of El Deafo have captured my heart! I grew up HOH with 2 aids, the only kid in my entire rural school district at the time that had a hearing loss. I’m 41 years old and loving El Deafo. Can’t wait to finish it!

    • Cece Bell August 23, 2016 at 4:56 pm #

      Hi Heather! I am so glad that you are reading El Deafo and enjoying it—-and I’m especially glad that it’s resonating with you! We are only 4 years apart so I bet we have a lot in common! I hope you’ll continue to enjoy the book. Thank you so much for reading it. All my best!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. El Deafo – My Book Shoe Box - November 11, 2016

    […] El Deafo by Cece Bell […]

Leave a Reply

