Sock Cece Goes to Texas!

20 Oct

I got a cool invitation in the mail the other day from the kind folks at Kirkus. Opening up the envelope reminded me of the first pages from my first book, Sock Monkey Goes to Hollywood: A Star is Bathed. Just like the folks in Tinseltown remake movies every now and then, I’m thinking now might be the perfect time to remake this book. Here’s where I’m headed (and please ignore the sloppy Photoshop stuff I’ve got going on here):

page01

page02

page03

page04I’m really, really excited about this trip. In real life, it’s not so much the getting clean that scares me. It’s the flying in an airplane stuff that makes me quake in my boots. BUT even if I don’t win, it’ll be worth it. I might get to meet the amazing New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast, who is a finalist for her own graphic novel/memoir, Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? And even better, I will be visiting the students at the Texas School for the Deaf. My book is really for them, after all.

Thanks for reading! One of these days I’ll upload some more El Deafo Extras for ya!

 

14 Responses to “Sock Cece Goes to Texas!”

  1. hamsterjp October 20, 2014 at 8:21 pm #

    I wish you luck! (Did you post my poster of el Deafo or…)

    • Cece Bell October 21, 2014 at 3:28 pm #

      I haven’t posted it yet but I plan to! Crazy times and I can’t seem to keep up with the blog. Hope you’re well!

      • hamsterjp October 21, 2014 at 7:59 pm #

        Oh yay! Its okay, i know youre busy being an author/illustrator! You too!

  2. Margie Jackson October 21, 2014 at 12:54 am #

    Wow!! Congratulations! And I will be happy to go with you and hold your hand on the airplane 🙂

    • Cece Bell October 21, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

      Aw, thanks. I got lucky and was able to convince someone from Abrams (the publisher) to go with me. Whew! Hope you’re well. So sorry I missed your visit. XOXO!

  3. chippy slusher October 21, 2014 at 3:35 pm #

    There have been way too many movies and such depicting airplane disasters…
    With way lower statistics in real life…

    • Cece Bell October 21, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

      Chippy, you’re the best. Thanks for the reminder. I constantly have to remind myself that it’s safer to fly than it is to drive a car. Just about always. There’s just that weird feeling that comes with being SO HIGH UP IN THE AIR. Gracious. Thanks for writing!

      • chippy slusher October 22, 2014 at 12:07 am #

        You’re welcome! And I was going to put a 🙂 in but forgot, so sorry if it came out a little bit “ehhh”…

  4. Ken Jones October 23, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

    Congratulations! Hooray! You (and El Deafo) are so deserving!!

    Oh my gosh, I laughed so hard when I saw your rewrite of SM Goes to Hollywood staring the AMAZING half-human, half sock-monkey Cece Bell. Given that I’ve read the original SM books to my kids hundreds of times, I could not wait to see what happened each panel of your ‘upgrade’. I called my daughter, Sophie (who was 5 when your first SM book was published) immediately upon school dismissal to tell her to go on your website ASAP. She’s a fantastic kid but it’s sadly natural that there are fewer shared Daughter/Dad laughs with 16-year olds than with 5-year olds. However, Cece the human sock-monkey gave us all kinds of guffaws, belly laughs, and silly grins.. Thank you – as always. By the way, I’m wondering if Tom should be in the background of those illustrations as half human, half Yoda.

    P.S. I am so sympathetic about the flying. Please forgive an unsolicited comment: I learned from you that extra special friends (such as Miss Bunn, Blue Pig and Froggie) want very much to help loved ones when there are challenges ahead – whether it’s icy water, scratchy towels, stinky soap or flying. This is just the opinion of one goofball lawyer and dedicated admirer, but I’d be tempted to take Miss Bunn with me on the trip (provided she does not mind the invasive airport searches and fluoroscopes). With her support, the trip may go very well indeed.

    Best wishes always,
    Ken.

    • Cece Bell October 24, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

      Hi Ken! Your note made me so happy. I’m so glad you enjoyed my rewrite of SM Goes to Hollywood. It was so sloppy because I was trying to get it done quickly, but maybe that was part of what made it work. Sometimes sloppy is the way to go! I’m really glad you had a nice moment with Sophie! That’s always the goal for me: making people laugh. And PS…thank you again for coming to see me in DC. That was a real treat, meeting you.
      As for flying, I should’ve brought Miss Bunn; you’re right. But I made it! And now I gotta fly back. Yowza.
      Have a great weekend, and thanks, always for writing! xoxox!

  5. Libby With a "Y" October 23, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

    Hi Cece! It was so very nice to meet you last weekend, one of the highlights for me! You are so inspiring! When are you going to Austin? Funny that I ask that, right? Well, we are moving there (99% sure) in just a couple of months. That’s why I couldn’t buy any books at the conference –don’t want to move them! 🙂 Take care!

    • Cece Bell October 24, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

      Hi Libby!

      It was so nice to meet you, too! I am so shy at these things, so I love it when someone makes an effort to engage me in a conversation. I really appreciate your taking the time to do that.

      I can’t believe you’re moving here soon! Will that make your research on your book difficult? I sure hope it’s going well and that you are having fun working on it.

      Here’s to you and lots of success!!!

      xoxox
      Cece

  6. Nikia February 12, 2015 at 1:16 am #

    hi cece bell I love the book el deafo sorry that I spelled it worng I don’t have the book right now beacause I already finshed its the best book I read all year

    • Cece Bell February 12, 2015 at 1:21 am #

      Thanks, Nikia! I am honored that you liked my book so much. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

