Upcoming events with El Deafo!

12 Nov

AHead

That’s right! I’ll be at Imaginations Toy Store in Blacksburg, VA tomorrow night (Thursday, November 13th). The event starts at 6:30. I’ll be doing a song-and-dance about Kneecap Health and then we’ll launch right into El Deafo and other book stuff. I’ll also be on hand to sign books, if that floats your boat.

You’ll have an opportunity to see my old overalls that my Granny Bell made for me:

Cute! For reals!

Cute! For reals!

Plus the REAL Miss Bunn!

Still sweet after all these ears...ahem, years...

Still sweet after all these ears…ahem, years…

Yeah, and other stuff too, like my Phonic Ear and my rusty hip (the right one’s kinda cranky these days).

I’ll also be at Meadowbrook Public Library in Shawsville, VA the following week (Tuesday, November 18th) at 6:00. Same kinda thing, except we’ll be surrounded by books instead of books AND toys toys toys toys.

And then…on Friday, November 21st at 7:30—hold onto yer hats—I’ll be at the Takoma Park Public Library in Maryland with the amazing Jon Scieszka, Tom Angleberger, Mac Barnett & Jory John. (Now that I’ve seen all their websites due to linking to them…good grief, the beauty!) Come support the lone female in the group, why don’tcha? We’ll have a ball!

23 Responses to “Upcoming events with El Deafo!”

  1. winterhamster02 November 12, 2014 at 3:37 pm #

    Wish I could come…

  2. our class November 12, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

    Dear Cece Bell,
    Our class read your book El Deafo for our unit on heroes. We loved it! It is a cool story and Cece experienced many things we do too. We are Deaf and hard of hearing middle school class in Portland, OR. We also like the pictures. We want to meet you, but know you are afraid of airplanes. Maybe you could talk to us on Facetime or Skype? We have questions for you and we want to know more about your life. We hope you make a second El Deafo book!

    We hope you reply soon!
    our class

  3. onesockonphotography November 13, 2014 at 4:53 am #

    I am planning on coming by on the 21st in Takoma Park!

    • Cece Bell November 13, 2014 at 10:41 am #

      Hooray! I’ll look forward to seeing you there!!!

  4. Nina November 13, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

    Hi! Is there any chance you’ll be signing books in Western NC anytime soon?

    • Cece Bell November 13, 2014 at 6:31 pm #

      Not anytime real soon…sorry about that! I’ll keep you posted if so!

  5. Mika November 15, 2014 at 4:01 am #

    Oh man! I wish I could come! But it alredy passed. Annnd I live in Massachusetts.. Darn.. So.. Far.. Away..!

    • Cece Bell November 15, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

      So sorry to have missed you! Massachusetts is a little far, alas. I bet it’s cold!

  6. chippy slusher November 17, 2014 at 8:55 pm #

    I should be able to come to the Nov. 18th one!

    • Cece Bell November 17, 2014 at 9:00 pm #

      Huzzah! Tom has a drawing that I am supposed to pass along to you. I’ll make sure to bring it tomorrow. See you soon!

      • chippy slusher November 17, 2014 at 9:07 pm #

        Yay! And I will bring my origami El Deafo…

  7. Cece Bell November 17, 2014 at 9:07 pm #

    Hot diggety dog!

  8. hamsterjp November 19, 2014 at 1:03 am #

    Woot! Have any events leading around illinois?

    • Cece Bell November 20, 2014 at 6:20 pm #

      ALA Midwinter in late January…and possibly a school visit!

      • hamsterjp November 21, 2014 at 11:12 pm #

        Thanks! Crossed fingers!

  9. chippy slusher November 20, 2014 at 7:54 pm #

    Just finished reading all of the signed books!

    • Cece Bell December 1, 2014 at 1:45 pm #

      HOORAY!!! Thank you so much for coming to Meadowbrook, Chippy. Daisy and your mama, too! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and that your holidays continue to be merry. XOXO!

  10. chippy slusher December 16, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

    Heard you on NPR he other day!

  11. Angela Gonzales Darpino February 28, 2015 at 10:49 pm #

    I just checked El Deafo out of the library and my son read it cover to cover in one sitting he didn’t move out of the chair for about 2 and a half hours!! He is an avid reader but this is a little unusual for him to do, must be the familiar subject matter. He is 9 and has had hearing aids since he was 15 months old then got a cochlear implant just before he turned 7. Thank you for writing a story that has entertained my son and creating a character he can truly relate to! I will purchase the book now that I know how much he loved it, we also own alot of Tom Angleberger books.

    • Cece Bell March 3, 2015 at 1:36 am #

      Thank you so much for writing! I’m gonna send you an email right now…

  12. Lisa Picillo March 7, 2015 at 4:20 pm #

    Dear Ms. Bell,
    I just finished your book, and LOVED every bit of it! As a Teacher of the Deaf/Hard of Hearing for many years, El Deafo hits home. Thank you for sharing your experience with the world!

Leave a Reply

