A couple of links…

11 Mar

sausage

Mmm, mmm good!

Also, my dear friend, author and poet Mary Crockett Hill, put together a museum exhibit for me a while back, and she has beautifully condensed it here on her website. Be sure to look around at Mary’s stuff, too! She is awesome.

I also created a “reaction video” (a reaction to finding out about the Newbery Honor) for the folks at ALA to post. It’s here if you’d like to check it out. If nothing else, it shows how important cell phones have become for folks like me. Cell phones and email have been the greatest equalizers of all time and make so much of my good life possible.

7 Responses to “A couple of links…”

  1. Sonora Pauley March 12, 2015 at 12:53 am #

    CES started its One Book One School Project today. Every child has a copy of El Deafo in their hands. The excitement is contagious. It brought tears to my eyes to think of your Granny Bell beaming down from heaven so happy to see so many children reading……you did that!

    • Cece Bell March 14, 2015 at 10:38 am #

      THIS makes me choke up! Thank YOU for putting the book into so many hands! XOXO!

  2. Nina Rogers March 13, 2015 at 2:15 pm #

    Congratulations on your Newbery Honor! That is huge! “El Deafo” is a wonderful book!

    • Cece Bell March 14, 2015 at 10:37 am #

      Nina, thank you!!! I still cannot believe it happened. Wowza! Thanks for writing!

  3. origamiyodas May 1, 2015 at 9:48 pm #

    Can I have some of those sausages? Hahaha… no… seriously can I have some?

  4. Patricia Rosinski February 25, 2016 at 5:39 pm #

    Cece— what a wonderful book! I have a niece and nephew who are deaf and this book really takes a look at what some of the feelings are that go along with being deaf and of those in contact with someone who is deaf.
    I am also a Special Education teacher in the Bensalem School District to language impaired/learning support students. The way you write and express Cece has caused an uprise in one of my most quiet students. I love sitting in my corner teaching others while the group reading El Deafo is on the other side of the room. Hearing the expressions, the audacity(!) comments, the connections, the comparisons of the character from the beginning to the end of the book, and so on, just blows me away. THANK YOU! You made a difference in this boy’s life.
    My 2 students wrote letters to you but I do not have an address to send them. Do you accept letters?

    • Cece Bell March 1, 2016 at 3:48 pm #

      Hi Patricia,

      Thank you so much for your very kind note!

      I am so thrilled that your students have been enjoying the book so much. And to know that it has resonated with deaf students, and especially a quiet student, means so much.

      Your students can send me letters care of Caitlin Miller, ABRAMS/Amulet Books, 115 West 18th Street, 6th Floor
      New York, NY 10011. It might take me a while to receive the notes and to write back, but once I get these I’ll try to write back quickly.

      In the meantime, please say hi to your wonderful students for me, and to your niece and nephew, too!

      Best,

      Cece

Leave a Reply

