Where I’ll be next…

11 Mar

My secretary, Shirley Knott, has reminded me to let y’all know where I’ll be next week. Come and see me if you’re in the Richmond/Charlottesville area! I’m doing a bunch of school visits and the Virginia Festival of the Book. If you come and see me, I will tell you a great joke about the Zen master and the hot dog vendor. I promise you it’s clean.

Anyway…

Thursday, March 19th from 8:30 to 9:15: St. Michael’s Episcopal School, Richmond, VA. BBGB Books will be on hand to sell books, and I’ll be on hand to sign them from 9:15 to 10:15.

Thursday, March 19th from 2:00 to 3:00: J.B. Fisher Elementary School, Richmond, VA. Chop Suey Books will be on hand to sell books, and I’ll be on hand to sign them from 3:00 to 3:50.

Thursday, March 19th at 4:30: West End Branch of the Richmond, VA Public Library. BBGB Books will be on hand to sell books.

Friday, March 20th at 10:45 and 1:25: school visit at Woodbrook Elementary School in Charlottesville, VA. The earlier presentation will focus on my picture book Bee-Wigged, and the later presentation will focus on El Deafo. This school event is NOT open to the public. (My apologies for saying it was…a bit of confusion on my part!)

Saturday, March 21st: Virginia Festival of the Book in Charlottesville, VA. I’ll be on a panel at 2:00 (with the amazing Madelyn Rosenberg, Kate Samworth, and Robert Anderson; I’ll also be doing a signing at 4:00. LOTS of cool writers and illustrators will be at this festival!

The supercool thing about this trip is that I’ll also be visiting my first elementary school in Richmond, J.B. Fisher Elementary School. It still has a program in place for kids who are deaf and/or use hearing aids. Here’s the school in the book:

01ORIGINSPanelsREVISEDAND, my first teacher, Dorn, will be taking me out to lunch and coming to my presentation.

01ORIGINSPanelsREVISEDCould things get any more surreal? I don’t think so!

I will also be headed to the northern area of Virginia/DC and Maryland in late April and early May. Details to come!

2 Responses to “Where I’ll be next…”

  1. Sonora Pauley March 12, 2015 at 1:03 am #

    Safe travels. Totally cool you are going to your first school and seeing your teacher. It will mean as much to her, if not more, as it does to you. Believe me I know.

    • Cece Bell March 14, 2015 at 10:49 am #

      Thank you, Sonora! It will be so wonderful to see Dorn again…and in the same setting! I am hoping that we will be able to find our kindergarten room…I know I couldn’t find it on my own, though! XOXO!

Leave a Reply

