El Deafo is coming to Northern Virginia and Maryland!

10 Apr

Hey folks! I’m headed to Northern Virginia and Maryland at the end of April/beginning of May. Here’s where I’ll be:

Thursday, April 30th from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Carnival and Potluck for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Community

Newton-Lee Elementary School in Ashburn, VA

I’ll be giving a short talk about my experiences and will be sharing a table with other presenters. I’ll also be meeting and talking to students and parents informally.

 

Friday, May 1st from 9:30 am to 11:30 am

Frances Hazel Reid Elementary School in Leesburg, VA

 

Saturday, May 2nd at 2:00 pm

Ashburn Public Library (part of the Loudoun County Public Library system) in Ashburn, VA

 

Sunday, May 3rd at 3:00 pm

GreenRow Books in Ellicott City, MD

Famous person alert: You might see Emma from the book there!

Emma is on the far right!

Emma is on the far right!

 

Monday, May 4th at 6:00 pm

Children’s Choice Book Award gala and dinner reception in NYC

(Betcha didn’t know that NYC is a suburb of Northern Virginia!)

I’m a nominee for a Children’s Book Council’s Children’s Choice Award. (Abd huge congrats to all the other nominees, too.) This award, according to the CBC’s website, is

the only national book awards program where the winners are selected by kids and teens of all ages.

And FYI, the site also says

voting for the 2015 winners will run through Sunday, May 3 at ccbookawards.com.

I’m in the Debut Author category. (Don’t tell anybody, but I’ve been around for a while, ha ha! I think they mean debut as a graphic novelist. Well, I hope that’s what they mean…otherwise, ruh-roh).

Anyway, will I be the CLEANEST nominee at this gala/reception? Highly doubtful.

*SM2

S.M. himself won the Oswald Award for Cleanest Nominee in this book…and he also won a Potato Honor for the book itself, as pictured here…

Tuesday, May 5th, late at night

HOME (also a major motion picture based on the book The True Meaning of Smekday by Mister Cool himself, Adam Rex! The first time I met Adam, we were at a large funky hotel in Florida doing this Moveable Feast event/thingamajig. I was promoting my Sock Monkey books, and he was promoting Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich. (It was about 9 years ago.) Adam was so nice to me. I just kept looking at his book and thinking, THAT guy’s gonna be a superstar. I mean, those illustrations! Swoon. I’m so thrilled about all his success. He totally deserves it.)

Here’s a picture of me with Adam Rex, way back then:

Wishing my hair was still this awesome.

Wishing my hair was still this awesome. I know Adam probably feels the same way (about MY hair, that is, not his own).

Hope to see you in one of these places in the near future!

5 Responses to “El Deafo is coming to Northern Virginia and Maryland!”

  1. Umi Farrell May 4, 2015 at 7:10 pm #

    Cece, will you come to Boston? -Umi & Lucy Farrell

    • Cece Bell May 5, 2015 at 10:55 am #

      Wouldn’t that be fun! If I’m up your way I will let you know. So far, I don’t have any plans up in MA but you never know…

      • Umi Farrell May 5, 2015 at 3:14 pm #

        I’d be happy to try to arrange something, and lodging of course! (With your Salem compatriots) Folks around here would be so excited!!

      • Evan Borodin October 10, 2015 at 9:38 pm #

        Just asking but what year do you go to Maryland, 2015 or 2016. I’m in Maryland and I got assigned El Deafo for Battle of the books!

      • Cece Bell October 12, 2015 at 11:15 am #

        Hi Evan, I’ve been to Maryland and back already, I’m afraid. But I imagine I’ll be back there soon. Battle of the Books! That’s fun. I will be posting my “tour dates” soon, so maybe Maryland will be in the mix somewhere….

Leave a Reply

