El Deafo is On the Road!

3 Nov

OntheRoadHey Kids!

I’m going out on the road, and this trip’s gonna be a doozy!

On Wednesday, November 4th, I’m headed to Atlanta, Georgia to be part of this amazing program: On the Same Page. Check out all the cool things the folks in Atlanta have been doing in preparation for my visit! It’s a real honor that On the Same Page chose EL DEAFO for their program this year. Just, wow.

I’ll be doing school visits at the Atlanta School for the Deaf, the International Community School, the Global Village Project, and Clairemont Elementary School. The school visits are not open to the public, but don’t despair…

Because there IS a Grand Finale on Friday, November 6th, and everyone is welcome to come! It’s at the Drew Charter School Auditorium (301 E Lake Blvd SE, Atlanta, GA 30317) and begins at 7:00 pm. I’ll do a presentation, and one of my favorite book stores, Little Shop of Stories will be there with books that I will be happy to sign. It’s gonna be fabulous.

Making the trip even crazier is the fact that I’ll be driving down with my mom, the amazing BARBARA BELL, and my older sister, the dy-no-mite SARAH BELL, both featured in EL DEAFO. I’m hoping that the whole thing will turn into some kind of movie-worthy road trip, preferably without the Thelma & Louise ending.

ThelmaLouiseAfter Decatur, I’m headed to Pittsburgh, PA, home of the Steelers—who were all the rage when I was in elementary school. I bet anyone reading this who grew up in the seventies remembers those black satin Steelers jackets that all the cool kids were wearing. Anyhoo…

SteelersOn Sunday, November 8th at 2:00, join me at the Carnegie Library Lecture Hall for the Pittsburgh Arts and Lectures Kids and Teens Program! This presentation will be a conversational format focused on talking to the kids in the audience, followed by a 20 minute Q&A. I’ll be doing a signing, too. FYI, this event is ticketed, so if you’re interested, you might want to check out the website.

And finally, on Monday, November 9th, I’ll be doing a video conference with participating Pittsburgh schools, so maybe I’ll see you on the teevee!

It’s gonna be a wild one!

3 Responses to “El Deafo is On the Road!”

  1. Jess November 4, 2015 at 4:38 pm #

    Have fun on the road trip! Does sock monkey get car sick?

  2. Carolyn Yagle January 28, 2016 at 4:31 am #

    My 6 yo daughter, Liesel, and I met you when you came to Pittsburgh. I was the one who asked about if you knew Linda or Lisa Yagle from growing up in Salem; you said that maybe your brother went to school with them. Anyhow, this note isn’t about that. It is about the el deafo book that you autographed for my daughter. She finished the book this week. Today, she took the quiz on it (scholastic reading counts) and she received the 7pts scholastic assigns to it. She was really excited too. The quizzes are all about comprehension. I am happy for her that she spent about 6 weeks off and on reading your book. She retained a lot of the story over this time period.

    She was so proud of herself in having a accomplished reading this book. You are the first author we have had the opportunity to meet and you have really made an impact in our home. Thank you for sharing your talents and yourself. We have read rabbit and robot twice and we have read several sock monkey books. She is going to read Sara varon next. We have had chicken and cat around our house for a couple of years but I think she is going to do bake sale then sweater weather when it is released. Anyhow, rambling there – thank you again!

    • Cece Bell January 28, 2016 at 11:58 am #

      Wow! What a lovely letter to receive! I’m so thrilled that your daughter enjoyed the book so much, and especially that she did so well on her Scholastic quiz. Hooray! Thanks for sharing that bit of good news–and thanks, too, for reading some of my other stuff. She will LOVE Sara Varon, who is one of my absolute favorites. But have some tissues handy for ROBOT DREAMS, it’s a tough one near the end. Please tell Liesel hi for me! xoxo!

Leave a Reply

